SmS#49: Peaks Of The Week Pt.12

23 Aug

Loads of peaks this week! I’m treating you guys for being so, well….attentive! This week’s consists mostly of artists from the States, which just goes to show the quality of music crossing the pond at the moment. It’s been a fantastic year for music so far. Let’s hope they keep up the good work! So please enjoy the following tunes with an attentive ear!

It doesn’t seem like five minutes since his last album, but Baltimore’s brilliant Cass McCombs is back with a new record already! He’s down-right prolific. I can’t think of another artist I’d rather like to be this productive though, every album he has released so far has completly captivated me. The singer-songwriter has apparently made the most upbeat record of his career with his sixth effort, Humor Risk which is out on the 8th of November. So do yourself the honour of going through his back catalogue in the meantime. You won’t regret it!

Cass McCombs – The Same Thing

A beautiful song, taken from a beautiful album, accompanied by a beautiful video. Of course it’s Bon Iver. When I was waiting in anticipation to hear this years’ album, I was quite nervous really. This was because I just couldn’t quite fathom how Justin Vernon was going to follow his amazing heartbreak-in-a-cabin masterpiece For Emma, Forever Ago. I had no reason to worry at all with this years self-titled LP. It’s a much brighter affair, let’s put it that way.

Bon Iver – Holocene

CANT aka Chris Taylor from American Alt heroes Grizzly Bear  is ready with his debut LP Dreams Come True. Believe  is a Lo-fi rhythmic slow burner just creeps up on you when you least expect it. I can’t stop listening to it! His forthcoming record is set for release on the 23rd of September.

CANT – Believe

London four-piece Still Corners were brought to my attention last year and I instantly fell in love with their dreamy 60’s surf-pop sound. I sort of lost track of them for a bit, but then I stumbled across Cuckoo and it all came flooding back to me! Check out the brilliant video below.

Still Corners – Cuckoo

This is infectious summer pop from San Fransisco duo Dominant Legs. I heard Hoop Of Love once and it’s been rattling around my brain all week! Their debut album, Invitation, is due out next month.

Dominant Legs – Hoop Of Love

 

Leave a Reply

