SmS#39: Peaks Of The Week Pt. 9

13 Jul

Sorry about the delay folks, I’ve been shamelessly sunning myself on the Norwegian south coast, but my thoughts have been dominated by my inability to update the SmS blog over the last 10 days due to our cabin being internet-less (crisis). So my thoughts have been with you… promise!

 

One of the reasons I travelled home a bit earlier than planned was to give my sandy ears the desperately awaited pleasure of hearing the brand new LP from The Horrors. The Southend-On-Sea band released their new album Skying on Monday, and it has a lot to live up to after 2009’s spectacular Primary Colours LP. Having listened to the album constantly since monday, I think it may even be a step up from the bands previous effort. This is the new video for the first single taken from the album. The album was definitely worth the 10 hour car ride!

The Horrors – Still Life (directed by Oliver Murray)

 

This could well be my single of the year so far, it comes from London’s psychedelic pop darlings Younghusband. It is currently my summer soundtrack along with The Black Lips Arabia Mountain album amongst others.

Younghusband – Nothing Nothing

 

 

Shabazz Palaces are the two-man experimental hip-hop phenomena from Seattle. I know, there hasn’t been too much hip-hop here on SmS, but I’m a big fan and it just can’t be ignored when it’s this good!   This video is taken from a recent live performance on KEXP radio station.

Shabazz Palaces – Various Songs Live On KEXP

 

This is a track from one of my very favourite artists Kurt Vile. The man from Philadelphia seems to be getting better with age, this years Smoke Ring For My Halo being on of my faves so far in 2011. Check him out, Here’s the new video for Baby’s Arms, filmed on a mobile phone apparently.

Kurt Vile – Baby’s Arms (directed by Todd Cole)

Leave a Reply

